The year 2012

the end of the world

Whew, guess we are lucky enough to witness the new years eve of 2012 at all, because according to the mayan calendar the world is supposed to end on 21st december – well, maybe we got a second chance, who knows.

Anyway – hello and welcome to my annual Anime retrospective view. Tonight, I will summarize the Anime highlights of the year 2012, both the good stuff and the bad stuff.

This year was unfortunately a year full of disappointments and wasted potentials. There was ONE particular anime which caused both a massive hype and massive hate and thus have created a civil war among fans like we never have seen before. The never ending flaming between the fanbase and the hatebase was probably one of the most polarizing incidents in the anime community of this year.

But before we get to the main dish, I shall start chronologically from the spring Anime season.

Let’s start with awarding the anime series, who had really good potential at the beginning but failed to live up its expectation in the end.

The Losers of 2012

Mouretsu Pirates

Ah, Mouretsu pirates. I really really wish I could appreciate you more. Because the premise sounded awesome (at least on the paper): Cute girls in space doing motherfucking space pirating with epic spaceship fights and badass action scenes? HELL YEAH! Unfortunately, Mouretsu had none of that in the first 7 episodes. The build-up took way too long time and the awful slow pacing turned the beginning of this series into a borefest. And there were way too much slice-of-life shenaningans instead of some… actual “piracy action” like… boarding a cargo ship or just engaging in some space fights. I liked the characters though, but my patience grew thin during episode 6 since NOTHING happens, and eventually, I ragequit in episode 7. Too bad, space pirates, you could have been awesome.

Nisemonogatari

Alright, at this point I just realized I grew tired of Nisioisin’s nonsense dialogues which drags on and on with no actual content. Nisemonogatari is basically pure fanservice pandering under the disguise of being “artsy” and “innovative”. It didn’t even pretended to have a plot, but still, I expected a bit more as a “sequel” of Bakemonogtari, (which was okay in my book) Instead, I got a  pure fanservice spinoff, which I quickly grew tired of. And no, the tooth-brushing scene was not “hot”, it was disgusting.

Another

Another also got the award for “most stupid plot resolving” and most hillarious unintentional comedy. Basically, it could have been the first good horror series for years, but the more the story progresses, the more stupid the characters behave. Still, one of my favorite female character of this year is Misaki Mei. This is a prime example of “really cool character stuck in an awful show”. What a pity. And hasn’t it been for the hillarious pie threads on /a/, I wouldn’t have enjoyed the series as much as now.

Sankarea

Fuck the final eipsode. Fuck that stupid bunny costume scene. Fuck this anime. Next.

Eureka Seven AO

Why are you doing this to me, Studio bones. Why do you always fail in sequels. Eureka Seven AO basically defiled the good reputation of the original Eureka Seven. The plot was going nowhere, everything was unneccessary complicated and the monster of the week episodes was a real turn-off. But the final nail on the coffin was Truth. I hate him. I hate hate hate hate hate this stupid character, he is overpowered, annoying, arrogant, and basically served no other purpose than being the designated asshole villain, and annoying us viewers with his stupid hax powers. Way to go to ruin a well established series, Bones.

Tari Tari

I love slice of life, but Tari tari was the most forgettable slice of life series I’ve ever watched. If I had to choose a word to summarize Tari Tari, it would be “bland”. Yes, that’s it. Tari Tari was just average, none of the characters really stood out, and their background story was not really engaging. All in all, it was really forgettable.

Kokoro Connect

Kokoro Connect had a really strong start with solid characters but unfortunately it developed into one of the worst examples of forced drama this year. The body transfer arc in the beginning was quite amusing to watch, but then, that scene happened, where Iori jumped from that bridge. NO THAT’S JUST A CHEAP PLOT DEVICE TO INTRODUCE DRAMA. The worst part was, when everyone was crying about Iori, because she is going to die soon and suddenly – the master puppeteer appeared and said “lol just joking, hope u lernd ur lesson, lel”. FUCK YOU, that’s predictable, ridiculous and manipulative. Just… NO.

Chuunibyou demo koi ga shitai!

Unfortunately, I also have to include Chuunibyou in this list. My main complaint about this series is the direction it went. If it would stay a light hearted comedy like in the beginning, I’d liked it more. But the drama part in the latter four episodes never worked with me, and the final episode was really bad. I mean, everything was leading the conclusion, that Rikka would finally accept the reality and stop with the chuuni antics but then – they decided to disregard everything with a “nope, let’s return to status quo” and finished the story with a bland “you are what you are” afterword. Meh. It could have been so much better. Basically, read this post, because he has pointed out most of my complaints.

K

K get the award for “greatest wasted potential of year 2012” because both the characterisation and the (non-existing) plot was a clusterfuck. I am still crying about all those wasted animations and the wasted awesome soundtrack on this piece of pretentious crap.

With that, we’ll proceed to award the highlights of this year. The Anime series, who have delivered many enjoyable moments, here are

The Winners of 2012

Danshi koukosei no Nichijou

The spiritual successor of nichijou. The antics of the four teenage boys and their (mis)adventures are really hillarious, and it never got boring. This is a truly good example of a well made comedy AND parody, where it don’t pander the audience too much.

Natsuiro Kiseki

I still don’t understand why this series is so underappreciated among the anime community. It has a really solid cast, and the episodes are really entertaining. It even has a bittersweet conclusion. Definitely one of the most underrated series this year.

Accel World

Many people were turned off by the fat and BETA protagonist Harayuki (it doesn’t help either he was voiced by the same VA than Ouma Shu), but I still kept watching Accel World to see how it will develop. And boy, it delivered. The second half was really good, with many exciting battles and plottwists, especially Scarlet Rain and Ash BROller were very cool side characters. Along with the very good soundtrack, this is one of the series, I’d love to have a sequel.

Hyouka

This is one of the most pleasant surprises this year. It had a really really slow start, but in the end, the series has fleshed out the four main characters perfectly. I especially liked the subtle progression of the relationship between Oreki and Chitanda. Everything felt really natural. In fact, I think Hyouka is Kyoani’s most mature work, with excellent characterisation, absolute beautiful animation and next to zero pandering. If you are watching this series for the bland “mysteries” and not for the character development between Oreki and Chitanda, then you’re missing the point of the entire series.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

I initially ignored this series because I despise the shoujo and romance genre, since it’s always a mix of misunderstandings, love triangles, comic relief characters, BUBBLES AND SPARKLES, overused blushing, internal conflicts with annoying monologues, NTR bullshit etc etc… which always lead to frustration. But I gave it a chance, since many people recommended me this series and surprisingly, I really liked Tonari. The main reason was why I liked it so much was the self-confident and strong female lead character Mizutani. My only concern is the question whether it will get a second season since the anime ended without any conclusion. Anyway, with this series, I have regained some faith in the shoujo genre again.

Still, Yamaken >>> Haru.

Girls und Panzer

Cute girls doing cute things: Tank edition, but done right. I am not a tank expert, but you really have to admire the effort the makers have put into the show. Authentic tank models, really exciting Tank battles with actualy use of strategy, tank cafe’s, tank-themed bentos, the sterotypes of the different countries presenting the tanks, the katyusha song, basically, the entire anime revolves around tanks. If you have dismissed this show because of the silly premise, then you’re missing out one of the most entertaining shows this year. PANZER VOR!

And now, the special award, for creating the biggest shitstorm, the loudest debates in the anime community, the anime who made the word “hatebase” popular again, the award for

EPIC FAIL of 2012

goes toooooo…

1349120176472

Sword Art Online!

Holy shit dude. Sword art online. I am loss of words. I mean, how can a series fuck up that badly in story telling and characterisation? How can a series waste so much potential? How can this awful series even have fans?

[warning, incoming flaming and foul language, and yes, I took Sword Art Online way too seriously. Regard this as an emotional outburst of a really frustrated watcher. You have been warned.]

This Anime has one of the worst writing I’ve ever seen. Kirito is an painfully obvious self-insert and wish fullfillment character, who is overpowered as fuck and constantly have plot H4x powers pulled out of his ass to save the day, while Asuna is an annoying Tsundere, who is also perfect and has no flaws, and serving no other purpose than pandering to all those lonely basement dwellers, who are looking for a perfect and pure Waifu.

And these two are the main characters. Goddamnit.

Anyway, here are 10 reasons why Sword Art Online sucks. (I dropped SAO in episode 14 and I heard, it even get worse from there)

1. The constant use of deus ex machina and the huge amount of logical flaws in the series. But the worst case of all occured in episode 14. Why was Kirito able to stab Heathcliff despite being dead, why can Asuna free herself from the paralysis, what was the fucking reason Kayaba implanted a death mechanism in a virtual reality game? Because he was BORED? Why can Kirito defy logic? Oh, that’s right, it’s shitty writing and because he has PLOT armor and because he is JESUS. Fuck this episode 14.

2. The pacing. What the fuck. So, in the first episode, the player were still in level 1 and one episode later they are already in level 46, what the hell? How can you skip so much time? Also, we have 6 episodes of side stories in the 14 episode aincrad arc, and they served NOTHING for the plot progression. Also: “Oh hi, my name’s Kirito, I am badass” “Hi, i am Asuna and I am a useless slut” *later* “you saved my life, I love you kirito” “yeah.. let’s marry”” “okay” – that’s NOT how romance work, it needs progression and exploration you dumb fucks.

3. Every girl Kirito meets for the first time want to suck his dick because Kirito is SO badass. Well done, SAO for including a genre I really hate: A shitty Harem. Oh and before they fall in love in him, Kirito always have to save their sorry ass, because all women characters are FUCKING USELESS – talk about misogyny here.

4. The really blatant asshots and forced fanservice like constantly showing off characters in their undergarments. Including a ridiculous tentacle rape scene. VERY TASTEFUL INDEED.

5. The annoying cliches like “Asuna jumping in front of the person she wanted to protect and take the killing blow instead” – FUCK NO, THIS IS OUTDATED AS FUCK, YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS.

6. The extremely boring fights. Every time when I thought “Ooooh, now that’s going to be an interesting battle”, Kirito always curbstomp battle the enemy, because he ALWAYS conveniently has a skill which will defeat the enemy in seconds. HOW EXCITING.

7. Actually having a decent 1st episode and tricking us viewers to believe it’s going to be good. Fuck you for crushing my high hopes.

8. The “bad guys” (Kuradeel) are ridiculous and stupid as fuck. “HURR I AM EVIL BECAUSE I AM EVIL. LOOK AT ME TORTURING YOUR FAVORITE WAIFU, YES HATE ME BWAHAHAHA BECAUSE I SERVE NO OTHER PURPOSE THAN BEING A SCAPEGOAT” Seriously, what the actual fuck was the author thinking. It’s like a fanfiction written by an 15 year old.

9. Two years worth of semen made a glopping noise as it flowed endlessly into Asuna.

10. The obnoxious fanbase, who constantly claims that “the Light novel explained it better” – well FUCK YOU, because I don’t want to read the shitty Light Novel to have me explain why there’s so much bullshit going on.

I can rage on and on, but I have enough of this shit. I hate this anime and it fucking sucks and it sucking fucks and I don’t wanna talk about it.

Worst of all, Sword art online attracted an extreme amount of “casual” anime fans including many video gamers, and they all jumped on the bandwagon to worship this anime as the second coming of jesus, because they can “relate to the characters and its MMORPG setting and because Kirito is soooo badass”.

This is the new Twilight of Anime. Hyped by blind fanboys beyond hell, and panned by critics, who believes in their superior anime taste.

And now, after letting out some steam, the time has come, for the most important event.

Ladies and Gentleman,

the award for the

Best Anime of the year 2012

goes toooooo…

sample_e7420b19c0a729723369156270e6ac1a

AKB0048!

Now, before everyone of you scream “wait, what is this series? I never heard of it” – I can assure you, I have also neglected the series back then in the spring anime season.

But AKB0048 has ended up as the greatest surprise of the year. I expected absolutely nothing from this, because everyone thought it would only serve as a cheap device to promote the real life idol group AKB48.

Instead, AKB0048 turned out to be everything I love about anime: It was entertainment at its finest. It didn’t try to be thought provoking, it didn’t try to be a brainless comedy, it didn’t try to be too overdramatic, but instead, it gave us a perfect blend of space opera, music, mecha, slice of life and drama in a really imaginative sci-fi setting with a ridiculous premise (entertainment is FORBIDDEN in the whole galaxy) – and it actually worked. I mean, Hypergalactic space Idols fighting Space nazis with the power of MUSIC and FRIENDSHIP on flying platforms with MICSABERS, how awesome is that? Yes, it’s a bit silly sometimes, but its brilliant cast of characters, its awesome insert songs, its colorful sci-fi setting and it’s perfect balance of action and drama delivered one of the most FUN experiences this year.

Hell, after watching this series, I even got interested into the real life AKB48 and listened to their music, and watched their videos (AKBINGO!) and also became a fan of them. (my Oshimen is Takamina btw). It’s really amazing, how much I grew to love AKB48 through this anime.

1342966818046This anime also wins the award for best insert song (BEGINNER in episode 3), best background art (just look at those artworks), best episode (ep. 13 and the epic concert) , best Opening (Kibou ni tsuite)best soundtrack (the medley is awesome) best side-character (Takamina) and the most badass moment (see pic). If you still haven’t watched this series yet – then go and watch it now or you’ll miss all the FUN. Besides, the second season is starting in only a few days.

Allright, this would wrap up my year with the Anime in 2012, and there are still many potentially good series left, I haven’t watched yet (Jinrui, Fate zero), but I am glad, that I haven’t lost interest in Anime yet despite being busy in the music conservatorium.

Anyway I am really excited for the year 2013, since it will deliver many long-awaited sequels and continuations.

Last but not least, here are my Youtube Stats for the year 2012.

For the year 2012, I got:

2,598,940 video views with a total of 4,144,489 views

316,265 views on my most popular video, Bios (Guilty Crown)

11,502 new subscribers with a total of 17,678 subscribers

22 new sheets

1 new fanpage on facebook,

1 major audio upgrade and finally

ONE BIG THANK YOU

for your support this year. I wouldn’t have come this far, without your feedback.

Thank you for every comment,

thank you for every like/dislike, and

thank you for watching my videos and downloading my sheet.

I also want to thank Tehishter for being a fellow Anime piano transcriber (we really should talk more about Anime, lol) and also CastlevaniaPro93, for convincing me watching AKB0048 and mastering the audio tracks.

With that said, I wish you, my dear readers, a really happy and successfull new year and let’s hope, our love for Anime will never fade.

See you in year 2013!

sleepy chan

Animenz

[ EDIT: ]

https://animenz.wordpress.com/2012/annual-report/

57 thoughts on “The year 2012

  1. Wow, really ripped into sword art there.
    Althought, I have to agree, you have a point with everything you say – Kirito is too over-powered, you just expect him to win.

    But, to be, Sword Art is just something brainless to watch, like Highschool Of The Dead.

  2. You crushed all my illusions with your imagine breaker T_T. Although I was in denial, your pretty much right about this season. Especially sword art online.

  3. “It’s like a fanfiction written by an 15 year old.”
    I laughed at this sentence, because Kawahara Reki was really around that age when he wrote Sword Art Online~

      • Yeah, he’s being serious. And Accel World was written way after (it says that it was published in 2009… SAO around 2003)… So he got better I guess? As a result, it’s pretty interesting to see your reactions to each.

      • Yeah. SAO was a web novel in the beginning. He jumps to the end and fills in the side stories in the second book. Which leads to a terribly organized plot that contains everything needed to make fanboys happy. As pure entertainment it’s not terrible. Then again, I’m part of the target audience e_e
        Girls und Panzer was great – I think I’ll be watching some of the other shows you’ve recommended here too.

  4. holy shit, this is one of your best blog entries ever. seriously. But where are the other 90 reasons why SAO sucks ^^ Best regards, a good new year everyone, let’s do some good work again. Considering the time it is now, I am neither very awake, nor sober. Anyway, look forward to my Girls und Panzer ending remix everyone. 😀

    • LOL castle! You don’t want to hear the rest of the 90’s man, Animenz is a really persistent guy to think of new stuff with actual facts to criticise SAO, plus I find his blog very entertaining, he’s just too damn funny. He’s like those haters on youtube 😛

  5. Simply Awesome. I totally agree with so many of these points here.
    Chuu2 was really wasted. REALLY, REALLY wasted, gosh. But you need more reasons to hate Sankarea 😦 as in reading your comments on Sankarea doesn’t explain how it is bad?

    and tbh I agree with your points on SAO, but there are people who enjoy anime series with a never-ending flow of cliché.

  6. Hope SAO has SS2 in future ! SS1 is fukin suck a lot !
    Agreed with Kasrkin ! ” they really couldn’t make two great anime by the same author in one year”
    Just like Max payne 3 and GTA 5, they’re too busy with max payne 3, so delay gta 5 to 2013

  7. HAHAHHA WELL DONE ANIMENZ! Cheers! SAO is seriously dumb and I like your 2nd, 3rd, 8th and 9th criticism there. I mean, I would never have thought you would use SCAPEGOAT, and I seriously agree with you on the romance part, it dosen’t come as easily as saving ones ass.

  8. SAO pissed me off..too much teasing….
    NOooO~ i was 2 comments away from the most active follower! XD. meh at 2nd place is cool… cant wait to see what you do this year.

  9. Amazing, I totally forgot you made year posts like this one.

    What I love about this is that it is your honest opinion. You don’t care what people think, and I really respect that. Plus, it’s HILARIOUS. You rip things to shreds if you really hate them. And because of that honesty in your reviews, I completely respect your point of view even if you destroy anime that I enjoy.

    And I agree, we really should talk more about anime, I hope we can have more enjoyable convos on skype this year. 😀

    >Kirito is an painfully obvious self-insert and wish fullfillment character

    YOU SPEAKETH THE FUCKING GOSPEL.

    PS. I’m almost finished with AKB0048, and it’s quite amazing, particularly because the strong story was unexpected. I apologize, I hope we can share the transcription of OP/ED, I really do love the music in this anime~

  10. Also deine Winner uns Loser sind irgendwie stark verdreht, anscheinend gefallen die seriöse Serien nicht, sondern eher die sinnlosen und reinen Slice of Life Moeblobs. Sehr schade, dass du nicht den Wert von z.B. SAO erkennst, dachte eigentlich, dass das nur Trolls schlecht bewerten. Ich geh dann auch mal davon aus, dass dir solche grandiosen Serien wie Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, Death Note oder Code Geass auch nicht gefallen.

    Wirklich sehr schade …

    • Hm, moment!
      Ich liebe Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, das ist einer der besten shounen Serien überhaupt, weil es eine super toll erzählte geschichte und sehr starke Charaktere hat. Das gleiche gilt für sowohl death note als auch Code Geass, beide sind erstklassige serien (siehe mein MAL account, ich hab sie sehr hoch bewertet). SAO jedoch tanzt wirklich völlig aus der Reihe. Es hat ernsthafte Probleme in sowohl Story als auch Charaktereentwicklung. Diese 10 Punkte die ich angesprochen habe, sind vllt etwas übertrieben, aber es sind doch legitime Kirikpunkte oder? Das hat eigentlich nichts damit zu tun, dass es eine “ernsthafte” Serie ist, und ich es deshalb nicht mag. Im Gegenteil, wenn SAO sich selber nicht so ernst genommen hätte, dann wäre es zehnmal lustiger gewesen, aber durch diese Sammelsurium von Kitsch und wirklich schwerwiegende Plot holes hat es sich selber kaputt gemacht.
      Es stimmt jedoch, dass ich eher “light hearted slice-oflife comedy” series bevorzuge, aber ich mag auch nicht wirklich moeblobs (ich mag z.b. K-ON! und chuunibyou nicht und diese beiden haben SEHR offensichtliche moeblob charaktere). Ich lege sehr viel Wert darauf, dass die Charaktere persönlichkeit haben und dass die Balance zwischen Drama und Comedy stimmen. Ich schaue die meisten serien nicht wegen der story, sondern eher wegen der Charaktere.

  11. For, me, SAO is good, until episode 14, 15 – 24, sucks, because it’s out of topic, why the game changed? episode 25, i quite like it, nice ending, for me, SAO will be good if there was only 15 episode, 1 – 14 plus the 25th

  12. First of, sorry to all non-german speakers reading this, but I’m just more fluent with German. Bear with me. 😉

    Erstmal ein fettes Danke für deine Transcriptions und Videos, die ich wirklich wirklich mag. Ein Glück, dass wir Leute wie dich und ishter haben!
    Ich kann dein Ranking eigentlich so unterschreiben. Bis. Auf. SAO.

    In meinen Augen hat Sword Art Online nur zwei Probleme, und das sind, wie schon von dir erwähnt einmal die Zeitsprünge und der Fanservice. Frauen werden aber keinesfalls durchgehend hilf- und nutzlos dargestellt, siehe Asuna während Kämpfen oder Lyfa. Die Charakterauswahl ist halt nicht für jeden etwas. Aber erstmal zu den Problemen.

    Die Zeitsprünge: Ja, das war auch für mich gelinde gesagt “irritierend” als mal zwei Jahre einfach so übersprungen wurden und mal tausend schwache nebenplots in kurzen Zeitfenstern eingebunden wurden. Es war halt die beste Option, die Geschichte chronologisch zu erzählen, weil in den LNs die Hauptgeschichte in Band 1 und Nebenzeug in Band 2 erzählt wurden. Das hätte man kaum so umsetzen können, auch wenn mir klar ist, dass du die LNs nicht lesen willst. 😉
    Und falls es dich interessieren sollte, im Falle einer zweiten season wird SAO garantiert besser was das angeht, falls sie sich an die LNs hält.

    Fanservice aka tentaclerape, assuna, etc.: Ja. Ist kacke. Kann man nichts zu sagen. Das einzige Gegenargument ist halt, dass es sich abgesehen von ein paar Szenen doch in Grenzen hält. Da gab es garantiert schlimmere Pendants in der Hinsicht, die besser bewertet wurden. Ruiniert die Seriösität leider, die SAO für sich beansprucht.

    Deine restlichen Punkte wirken ein wenig wie rumgerage, daher kein Kommentar dazu :p Deine Meinung ist aber auf jeden Fall berechtigt, da es ja auch viel zu kritisieren gibt. Es ist aber ziemlich hart die Serie mit Twilight zu vergleichen. Es gibt auch Leute, die nicht blind vor dem Hype sind und SAO trotzdem mögen. Wär also meine Bitte, dass du dich da das nächste Mal nicht zu sehr reinsteigerst, weil es deine Erwartungen nicht erfüllt hat, sondern denen, denen es gefällt, auch gönnst. So absolut schlecht, wie man den Eindruck hat, wenn man sich das durchliest, ist es imho nämlich garantiert nicht.

    Das wars auch schon. Keep up the awesome work und frohes Jahr 2013! Auf noch viele weitere Animejahre und -diskussionen!

    dibas

    • I know it’s a comment to the blog post, but I hope you don’t mind if I give my opinion about it (google translate is pretty ok with German lol).

      I can’t speak for Animenz, but for me, I see all the hate because SAO fans worship SAO and not recognize its flaws. You don’t know how many times I’ve seen people defend SAO like it’s the perfect anime of the century. IT’S NOT. But there’s no honesty and integrity for them to admit it.

      For example, I have no problem admitting that I like Guilty Crown. But I will not say it doesn’t have any flaws. In fact, Guilty Crown has TONS of errors in writing and directing. I acknowledge that it is below par, but despite all that, I still liked it. A lot of SAO fans can’t do the same.

      • Oh well, theishter replied to my comment. Can’t believe it 🙂
        You are definitely right regarding the people who think it’s a flawless anime, as there ARE many flaws nobody can deny. I still like SAO though. I don’t even think it’s below par(although definitely not perfect or even close to that, as mentioned above), but that is a completely different discussion, I guess. Actually, SAO does not deserve that much hate, honestly. That was the only intention of my comment. To hate it that much just because of, okay, a lot of SAO fans ,is a real pity because in fact there are fans liking SAO and realizing it’s flaws, like you do with Guilty Crown, and still being looked at like “HOW COULD YOU EVER ENJOY SAO?!!111” because of ratings like this one. :/
        I think we are pretty much of the same opinion anyways.

        dibas

      • i still like SAO although there are some errors in directing, like animenzz said, in episode 1, they suddenly jumped to level 46, i realize that that was surprising, there could be more episodes if in the first episode they didn’t jump to level 46 imidiately. but i’m quite enjoyed the anime.

  13. Thank you so much for pointing me in the direction of AKB0048, really was awesome to watch. Not the first time, I usualy end up looking up animes that you’ve made transcriptions from and I have found several pieces of gold from that. Now I just need to find that prereleased episode from season 2 to get a fix for my new addiction.

  14. Well, different people, different opinions. When i first came across SAO, i saw alot of negative reviews. All doubting its originality. In many ways it was like accel world. I took a look at it myself, and meh, i found it quite okay (Yes, there are those flaws, but again, different people, different taste. NO hate message here). Take justin bieber for example. Lets say i go to a JB concert and shout
    “**** you justin, you sark, you have no **** and your fans are immature”
    You think everyone will agree with me?
    Noooo, I’ll be overwhelmed by 12 year old girls. I’ll be butt-raped until…
    I don’t even know anymore
    But you get my point right?

    But anyways, good post, really. Though there really wasn’t a reason to completely spoil SAO’s image. I mean, (repeating my previous point… blah blah blah.) So yeah.
    (This is just my feedback. Again, i emphasize I’m not lecturing you about SAO and stuff, I just felt this way. Not hating on you.) Still like your blog and stuff.

    Cheers~

  15. I basically blew off AKB0048 until I started watching some of your videos and then I picked it up at the end of the spring season. Best choice ever. Amazing anime, can’t wait for the second season. Really opened my heart to more light hearted idol type music in general (AKB48, Sphere). Actually the same thing happened with Girls und Panzer. Honestly I see it as AKB0048 with tanks…which makes it great. So I owe you 3 times (2 anime titles and a super huge one for your great transcriptions).

    As for the great SAO debate…I liked it :S ….kinda. First part was interesting in concept but its fast pace was its biggest draw back. Second half I expected much more from. Honestly I found it stupid how the actual game changed. Like really its called Sword Art Online and the interesting premise is built around that game. By ending that adventure at basically the half way point in the show, how can you not expect the second half to suffer? Oh and his sister but not sister sister —____—

    My biggest disappointment was honestly Kokoro Connect. Saw the body switching arc and honestly thought it would be the best anime I’ve ever seen. Yeah no. Bitterness. The next arcs uhhhhhh painful. The only thing that helped was Inaban (most adorable character, I don’t even care). I finished off the series the other day (ep. 14-17) and wasn’t all that impressed. But at least I got 4 more episodes of Inaban……

    Outside of AKB0048, I haven’t been impressed with the lineup for the winter season.

  16. Hmm, I agree to most of your opinions, but a select few. I completely agree with you SAO opinion, although I may have a lot more against it that just those 10. To be honest I think there were only a small handful of god anime this year. I was highly disappointed. But this winter season does have a lot of potential. Oh and your channel really has grown over the years. You have such a larger fan-base than you did a year ago. That’s crazy how you gain 11.5k subscribers. Also AKB0048 Next Stage, the Raws came out for the first episode 😀 Just need to wait for subs. Oh there is also going to be another idol anime airing this season. I am probably going to watch it after watching the PV, looks so kawaii. Well this is really an all over the place comment, but hope this year you will continue making great anime transcriptions.

  17. Pingback: Obligatory new year post (Girls und Panzer ED vocaloid remix) | Castle's piano blog

  18. Wow, I disagree with a lot of your opinions, but I respect all of them; people have different tastes.

    But Accel World? It almost felt like half the series was devoted to Haru and his friends literally breaking down and downright crying, while I’m just sitting there facepalming wondering why he hadn’t even considered any of the 10+ captain obvious solutions to his problems. I’mma have to call you out on this one, because I really enjoyed how Kokoro Connect was handled – it had to do with believable problems with no clear-cut solutions, with well-written dialogue and character development, and a plot that leaves a poignant message at the end. If you’re going to put down KC because you didn’t like how they inserted the supposed “drama bombs”, then you have no right to praise Accel World, which was full of vapid and–stupid is really the best word here–stupid dialogue, without sounding like a hypocrite.

    And oh gawd SAO is not the Twilight of anime. That’s a really low blow. I like SAO because I love the scenario, plus the animation and sound were undeniably top notch. Regardless of the issues with pacing and storytelling, the plot WAS enjoyable as whole. As a whole, the story was NOT cliche. I can do counterexamples to the points you complain about, but what’s the point; people already on the hate-train aren’t going to give it a second thought. I acknowledge it had a lot more potential, and that there were some scenes I didn’t particularly like in execution, but it was, overall, a good anime. I’m not going to DESPISE it just because it’s popular.

    On another note, great transcriptions in 2012! Regardless of our anime opinions, I’m a huge fan of your music and I’m definitely looking forward to more.

  19. Hmm well sure it has scenario and sound, SAO that is, but animation? I mean .. it looks kind of pretty sure but the fights were probably the lamest fights ever in an anime. Most fights seem to end with kirito charging his lazerkamehamehaop stuff and basically one frame shit. If you actually watch sao because of the art/music/scenario, go watch fate/zero and get 1000x more blown away considering how much better the fight the music and the art is in that anime if you haven’t seen it already, and finally animenz you are the boss!

  20. I was reading your post and even disagreeing with a lot of things i was still reading with certain respect, until i see your “best” anime of 2012, i was like ……..seriously? it’s a joke right?

    I like SAO, and even if the autor wrote that with 15 it’s still much better than Accel World in my opinion, unless you like loser protagonists insted over badass protagonists. I am honestly tired of loser protagonists with fear of women so when a had a chance to see a badass who actually “gets” the main heroine i was really glad and happy, any other anime would have needed 6 seasons for Kirito and Asuna have a kiss (bullshit, real world doesn’t work like this).

    Yes, SAO has it flaws…and? Code Geass is my Top 1 and has a lot of flaws too. Usually you like a anime because it was exciting and enjoyable to watch and not because it has more or maybe less flaws than others. Anyone that watch a anime looking for and getting nervous with the flaws is crazy in my opinion.

    And before anyone starts to talk back let me say this…….I DON’T GIVE A SHIT ABOUT NEGATIVE OPINIONS(i know SAO flaws and your “hate” will not chance my opinion, for me SAO is a good anime and has much more positive things than negative)…..what matters for me is that i liked SAO, it becomes ridiculous famous, it has tons of fans and people who liked it, is the top 3 best-selling anime of the year and the top 1 best-selling light novel of the year …..i don’t think i can be more happy, is truly good when something you like becomes a huge sucess….so if some people don’t liked and want to talk shit about it…. i don’t really care…it won’t becomes less famous and won’t sell less because of it.

    • Nope. Flaws/plot holes probably ain’t the reason why people hate it so much, but it just adds to the already crappy plot and stupid character/plot devices. One reason I hate it is because it is PREDICTABLE as hell. i.e.
      some punk: “oi wassup generic badguy here”
      kirito/jesus-kun: “oh no”
      *5 minutes on, jesus is in a bit of a pickle”
      ?????
      Kirito gets out of pickle and kicks ass/saves ass-suna/moe girl/wins nobel prize etc.

      same shit forever.

      Also, fucking Kayaba is crowned king? Did someone forget he caused the death of 2000 people? The stupidity continues….

    • Though I agree Accel World is more stable, I also get your dislike for ‘loser protagonists’. Too much emo shu x kirito-jesus-kun imo. Then I realised why I dislike both MCs. They were written by the same f****** person.

      Though I can definitely agree with Animenz that the 2nd half of Accel World is much better. He begins to develop away from his ’emo shu’ tendencies.

  21. “This is the new Twilight of Anime.” -Hahaha! The best phrase I’ve read describing SAO and it’s damn correct! It was a big let down after getting hyped up because of the first episode. The fanbase who defends it by using that light novel argument are just fans who can’t accept the truth that SAO really sucks. I’ve downloaded the entire Aincrad arc light novel and read it to prove myself wrong but no. I just proven myself correct that SAO really sucks! Anyway, AKB0048 was one anime I learned from your youtube channel. It never appealed to me before but I find the songs good and watching those videos made me rethink of my stand with AKB0048. Surprisingly, it’s a really good anime!

    Congratulations on your 2012! Hope to watch more videos from your blog soon! Good luck!

  22. I am trying to get all of my friends to watch AKB but they are mainstream junkies T.T lol. Everything was great about it and the last part as they fly up made me go crazy. The possibility was too great. Btw, I wanted to ask if you read any webtoons. I am looking to read a series with the greatest character development since I am planning to write a book myself (possibly draw a webtoon with my friend as well) and I want it to be great at everything while being unique. Animenz and anyone who follows him, it would be greatly appreciated if I get some recommendations

  23. As I was reading this post, I was gonna ask why AKB0048 wasn’t in the winners of 2012, but seeing it in best anime of the year made my day (◕‿◕✿)

  24. Geh…this comment is soooo late.

    I should probably be offended about that comment with “It’s like a fanfiction written by a 15 year old.” since I’m that age and I’m fairly sure my writing isn’t that bad, but I’ve got to admit that a majority of fanfiction are pretty bad, either for their grammer or stupid plot- but there are some that are really good. Just gotta find them, that’s all….>.<

    Actually, I find your lists of animes and mangas funny to read because I've got this friend that loves all (or a majority) of the ones you rant about. LOL

    Yeah, SAO was crap. I stopped after 7 episodes. I couldn't go on. (Though the 1st ep was good)
    You're serious about AKB0048? hm….I guess I'll watch it.

    Happy New Year!

  25. FINALLY someone who agrees with me for SAO =.= the story plot and ideas looked SO good on wikipedia I was like ZOMFG and then I watch it. First two episodes? fantastic. Everything else? just crap. oh my mothereffing god so disappointed =.=

  26. Pingback: The year 2013 | Animenz Piano sheets

  27. AND BIG BREATH IN the points that this guy made that realy ticked me of is where he said “The pacing. What the fuck. So, in the first episode, the player were still in level 1 and one episode later they are already in level 46, what the hell?” what even IF this was a 100 episode series would you really devote 75 of the episodes to kirito or one of the other characters grinding lvls you clearly have no concept of how boring any mmo can be when you have lvl requirements and have to spend hours getting to a higher lvl . ” Every girl Kirito meets for the first time want to suck his dick” CLEARLY if you are in a life or death vmmo your gonna whant to be best buds with the strongest (and kindest not a pedo ) “sucking dick” really man what the guys up stairs were trying to convey to u assholes was that kirito had a unique personality where people where able to instantly trust him and like him (not common in this day and age hence the “unique” word i used there) . and obviously if the show is going to be condensed naturally your going to put in the best and controversial battles . I do agree on the heathcliff bit what should of hapend there was when kirito got stabbed heathcliff got too cocky and didn’t notice the sword swinging for his neck . point 9 i don’t even know what the fuck u were trying to convey their but i disagree anyways . cliche really so your saying if your soul mate( if you could muster up the confidence to step outside of your room and into society)was about to get rammed through with a sword or some other sharp object, you wouldnt, try and stop it coz i sure as hell would . powers he could pull out of his ass another hrmmm here im 100 % sure they explained their was a system to allow an almost infinite amount of special abilitys , im sure if it wasnt a death game eventual someone would be duelweilding claymors . and so ends my breathles rant of why your explention of why sao sucked is a bunch of bulshit

  28. Woah. That is the biggest ripping into anything I’ve ever seen (Regarding SAO).

    Personally I like the series, but then again I’m a casual 🙂
    I think I’ll stay a casual, I feel like If I started watching anime seriously, I won’t be able to leave.
    You do make some good points though about SAO though.

    I’ve been reading some of Season 3 of SAO (Bear with me) and it seems like he (The writer of SAO) is amending a lot of his mistakes.

    TimeJumps – There’s only one. But it’s a timejump of two years. Though it’s just kirito and someone else training. So not as bad as before.

    Character Development – Well first of all we have new characters (Though all the old characters don’t do anything pretty much – apart from Kirito of course) and they’ve been developed properly(woohoo). I mean there’s even a bit where Kirito is basically disabled and does nothing which allows someone else to take main role.

    Harem – Gone. Completely

    Cliche Villains – Still there. And they’re more disgusting than before – You say you stopped at episode 14, so you missed episode 24. Lucky You. There’s only two villains (So far) that’s got a bit of backstory.

    OP-ness of Kirito – Course it’s still there. Sorry, but that’s one of my favourite bits.

    And the Quality of writing is a lot better than the other seasons.
    Regarding your ‘asshots’ comment, you’re not going to like a certain part.
    There’s a certain boss fight where the villain (A female) is stark naked throughout. And it’s a long boss fight. Probably at least an entire episode. So yeah…

    I would recommend watching/reading Season 3 if it comes out (Some are saying, it will only come out if the movie does well – I hear your screams, yes they’re making a movie). But what do I know, I’m a casual. 🙂

    Cheers

  29. I know you’ve rewatch Sao and you said it isn’t as bad as you say before but oh well. I still hate that anime a lot of wasted potential for that anime.

Leave a comment