My first “speed transcribing” (Steins;gate ED transcription)

Some of you may ask yourself by now: “Wait, what? Speedtranscribing?”

That’s right, just the same with speedsubs, but with notes.

It all began when I came back from my trip to Berlin on Wednesday.

I have missed the last flight to Stuttgart because I came too late for the check in (there were still 30 minutes left but the counter said, it was already too late…) and then I was stuck in the Airport for roughly 5 hours before the next plane to Stuttgart take off. In the little of the night.

Luckily, I had brought my laptop and my headphones and there was also a cafe which had a WLAN hotspot!

I convenientely have the notation software already installed on my laptop, so I thought in the next few hours I could actually transcribe something. It spring to my mind, that I should just visit Ichigos.com and ask on the forum for something to transcribe. (see here for my post)

Unfortunately, nobody answered and I just decided to transcribe the Steins;Gate ED (it also requested in a another thread)

HNNNGGGHH… Kurisutina is  awesome

I could finish it only after four hours because it’s really hard to transcribe if you don’t have a piano for reference. I only used my imagination how it would sound on the piano.

I wasn’t really sure if it would turn out well, since I practically blindly transcribed something without testing it out on the piano before like i usually do. (of course there were a playback function, but you can’t compare the sound of a midi with the sound of a real piano. Things which sounds “cool” on midi could sound ugly on the piano and vice versa)

Finally back at home, the first thing I had in mind was sleep and after sleeping for nearly 12 hours, I went to the piano and tried out my Speedtranscription. I was a bit surprised because it turned out better than I expected. Not really ground-breaking but still playable.

I only edited some minor details before I video tape. Maybe you notice the small changes between this version here and the version I posted on Ichigos.

I asked myself why I didn’t transcribed this earlier, since Steins;Gate is currently one of my favorite series and the ED is….

… someone give this man a medal.

pretty much my reaction (pic provided by YingYo360)

Download the sheet and midi here:

[Toki Tsukasadoru Juuni no Meyaku pdf + midi]      (difficulty: average)

 

(the title is ridiculous long and nearly impossible to remember…)

21 thoughts on “My first “speed transcribing” (Steins;gate ED transcription)

  1. Hmm, doesn’t your software have playback? Anyways, four hours doesn’t seem very speedy to me … either that, or you spend an insane amount of time transcribing your other works. 10 hours?

    • Usually 5-7 hours for only one Transcription, because I tend to correct and edit it over and over again (up to 10 times)
      Because I am a perfectionist.
      Sure, I could get the rough draft (the melody and the basic accompaniment) in only 20 minutes but that would be too boring for me, you see? 😉
      And yes, I wish I had more free time….

  2. The ED song usually means that it is to be played at the end of every episode. So when the guy hears the ED song plays, it means that it is at the end of the episode. It just means that he doesn’t want the episode to end. Don’t think too hard on it…

  3. Aww. At first I thought: “Oh I can learn this song without too much effort.” and of course you’re going to crush my dreams of laziness at ~0:55. Very well played as usual otherwise. Keep the wonderful work up.

  4. You made a mistake below the video on the webpage..you wrote ‘Seins:Gate’ =)

    authors note: it’s fixed now, thanks.

  5. Great song. As always, you have a wonderful talent to be able to do this — so quickly and with a good bit of complexity, too. If I were to try and “transcribe” something, it would just be one note at a time. I mean literally, so that you’d just need to play the song with one finger once I’m done. 😛 Chords and harmonies still go way over my head.

  6. I like the bass portion a lot for some reason. Wondering how long for me to be able to play this piece this time…

  7. i like this song^^
    but i don’t know i can’t download the sheet[Toki Tsukasadoru Juuni no Meyaku pdf]@@~
    could you give me the sheet>////<

  8. Steins;Gate is best anime made this year in my opinion.
    The ending is a really nice song, the only thing about the ending sequence that intrigues me is Makise Kurisu at the very end. The first time the ending came on and I saw the way she was portrayed, I figured that she must be of great importance to the show. Which she most certainly is, don’t get me wrong, but it makes it seem like the entire story is supposed to revolve around her, which clearly is not happening.
    Oh well, it’s still really good nonetheless. I wonder if I’ll ever stop being lazy enough to actually practice an anime song all the way through…
    Also, HAI ANIMENZZZ, HAY GUYS I MAID DAT COMIC AT THE VERY END OF THE POST. :3

  9. Title is ridiculously long and nearly impossible to remember? Then I’ll just have to call Jugem Jugem Unko Nage Ki Ototoi no Shin-chan no Pantsu Shinpachi no JinseiBalmunk Fezarion Aizak Shunaider San Bun no Ichi Junjyou na Kanjyou no Nokotta San Bun no Ni ha Sakamuke ga Kininaru Kanjyou Uragiri ha Boku no Namae wo Shitteiruyou de Shinranai no wo Boku wa Shitteiru Rusu Surume Medaka Kazuno Kokoedame Medaka….Kono Medaka ha saki no to ha Chigau Yatsu Dakara Ikeno Medaka no Hou Dakara Raa-yuu yuuteimiouki Mukou Pepepepepepepepepepepepe Bichiguso Maru over here then and have him start throwing his shit on you.

  10. When I first saw this meme (somewhere on 9gag or so), my first thought was “this is totally about STEINS GATE”

Leave a Reply

