Impressions of Summer Anime Season 2011

I have just noticed recently, but I am becoming more and more demanding with each new Anime Season. When I used to follow 6-7 series weekly 2 years ago, now it’s only 2 or at most 4 shows I watch on a weekly basis. I used to watch the generic harem-romance-comedy hijinx shows but now it is just exhausting. I used to decide whether I’ll follow the series or not by doing the 3-episodes-test, but now I don’t even have time for this anymore.  Because in the course of the years, I’ve realized something:

If I wasn’t hooked at the first episode or couldn’t find a particular reason for liking it, then it makes no sense in continuing watching it. There are a few exceptions of course but basically I trust my inner voice and judge by the first episode.

Let’s have a look at shows which I already dropped (credits for the screencaps goes to randomc.net )

Sacred Seven:

This show is dumb. No seriously, just look at this picture:

"Hello, officers? I think I didn't spot any Pizza-hut ads."

You ask me what’s wrong with this picture? The maids.

Not that I despise Maids in general but as long as the maids serve as some sort of “elite troops”, I can’t take the setting serious. They just don’t belong in here, in this “serious” situation.

The first episode starts with cliches over cliches like average boy suddenly gets superpower, the loli girl with her combat butler being an absurddly powerful student council president and lots of other stale tropes I’ve been long tired of.

You can make only ONE highschool-comedy-mecha-drama and actually succeed with it and that would be Code geass. Everything else are fakes.

Dropped.

Kami-sama Dolls:

"M-my hips are moving on their own!"

“What the hell are wrong with her boobs?” – I asked myself during the first 20 minutes of the first episode. They are horribly, horribly deformed and way too large. The animation was also full of inconsistency and fail.

And I already dislike one of the main characters: the imouto with the brother-complex. This is a really, really booring character archetype which I’m fed up with and it will certainly lead to some face-palming embarrassing scenes like: “kyaah, don’t look at me, baka onii-chan” or “it-‘it’s not like I did it for YOU, b-baka!” Not that it would actually happen though, but the animation sucks hard, so

 dropped.

Mawaru Penguindrum:

"APPRIVOISE!" *monochrome playing in the background*

This is your typical excentrical-experimental show where you are not sure where things are headed to. This is your typical “wtf-am-I-watching” show.

There are good chances it would turn out to be something ground-breaking epic. It is definetely not your average mainstream anime, it is undeniable innovative and full of symbolism and it could be a fun ride. But not for me.

I didn’t find it entertaining at all. I think it’s rather annoying. It feels random and trying too hard being FABULOUS. But at least, the visuals are interesting.

I will pick it up again later, if the the reviews are positive. But for now, it’s  – dropped.

Mayo Chiki:

"Sorry, I lied about being allergic to girls. You are F*CKED now."

OH BOY HERE WE GO AGAIN

Don’t get me wrong, I am not a passionate fanservice hater. I like fanservice – delicious fanservice. But not this type. A few years ago, I would regard it as guilty pleasure of the season and watch it. Now these times are over.

Dropped.

BLOOD-C:

Okay, I admit I still haven’t watched the show yet, because there weren’t any decent subs available when it aired two weeks ago. The situation has changed meanwhile but I won’t bother to begin with it because it’s a Spin-off (?) of Blood+  which I disliked and dropped it long time ago.  Because the idea of a vampire girl who REFUSES to drink blood is just… stupid, really.

Pre-Dropped.

Okay, I think that’s enough for the time being, I will continue it some time later.

And now for something completely different:

DR. PEPPER GET!

Kyon disapproves of me spending +50€ for beverage

Seriously, I never would’ve thought that Dr. Pepper would taste that awesome. It was refreshingly different, a untypical coke flavor I never could have imagined.

All credits goes to Steins;Gate of course, who introduced me to this beverage. I really wanted to check out Okarins favorite drink but it turned out to be difficult, due to the fact that Dr. Pepper wasn’t available anywhere here in Germany.

There weren’t a single supermarket, who had it in stock. You could only buy this (to a overpriced cost of 2€) in selected gas station…

– or buy it online via Amazon like I did. Damn, it’s already my forth can, I love this stuff.

Best consumed if it’s well-chilled. Can you handle the taste? (no, I wasn’t paid for writing this)

TL;DR: You jelly, germanfags? 

7 thoughts on “Impressions of Summer Anime Season 2011

  1. To be honest, I don’t even bother with these anime unless I hear that they’re good.

    I’m looking forward to a few this Summer 2011 Season actually. Baka to Test would be nice. I enjoyed the first season, laughed my ass off in a lot of the comedy, and can’t get enough of Hideyoshi. Hoping the OP would be catchy as well, so that I have something to cover.

    I’m just about to jump in “No.6” the moment I saw Bones and Aniplex as producers (such shows came from these producers, Darker Than Black, Durarara, FMA, Eureka Seven and other good stuff). Hoping this would deliver since I saw a synopsis and I like these kinds of genres (ie. “highest-ranked intelligence” reminds me of Monster which is a brilliant anime and ever since, I’ve been craving IQ-related anime).

    Usagi Drop, reminded me of Yotsuba& for some reason. Might watch.

    Ikoku Meiro, also jumping on to that since you’ve recommended it. Beautiful ending, cute loli, etc.

    As for movies, HAYATE NO GOTOKU FUCK YEAH. There’s a Full Metal Alchemist movie as well, can’t wait for that.

    Black Lagoon OVA, KissxSis OVA, Nichijou BLURAAAAAAAAAAAAAY.

    I’m cutting it here, too much rambling for me, sorry! Can’t wait for your part 2. It’ll be interesting to see what you think of the others.

    50€ for a pack of Dr. Pepper, fuck me.

  2. Haha, Dr. Pepper. I guess by living in America I’m spoiled, because it’s as available everywhere as any other soda. I drink mostly water, though. Dr. Pepper is neat on occasion since it’s a unique taste; their commercials are fun. But not my favorite. 😛

    I, too, have become busy with work lately and don’t get to watch as many series as I did in, say, 2008. That, like you say, was also when fanservice-like things were still novel and “omg I can’t believe they can show that on TV.” But by now we’re all so desensitized, and none of it feels that good anymore. So I’m glad for the few little gems that are still out there like Ikoku Meiro.

  3. LOL, I only watch anime that you recommend or watch because it seems your taste is alike mine except for the fanservice things and you truly help me by cutting my time in considering what to watch and what is not since my life is quite busy now. Can’t wait for your part 2 too.

  4. I’m liking Penguindrum so far. I don’t know if you’ve seen Episode 2 yet, but they pulled off the gas pedal a bit. The pace was more deliberate and there was less FABULOUS-ness. But hey, if it’s not your cup of tea, then it’s not. AFAIK the reviews are positive. I’m reviewing it on my blog

  5. Dr. Pepper tastes a lot like Cherry Coke, but I’ve had little of either.

    As for shows, why are you not watching Yuru Yuri and transcribing the OP right now 😛

Leave a Reply

